Editorial Board


Jump to: Editorial Advisory Board



Chairman of the Editorial Board and Editor-in-Chief


Seamus Martin

Seamus Martin, Dublin (Editor-in-Chief)
Smurfit Institute of Genetics, Trinity College Dublin, Ireland
E-mail: martin@febs.org
Apoptosis; Cell death; Caspases; Granzymes; bcl-2 family; Interleukin-1 family, IL-1, IL-33, IL-36, IL-37; Necrosis; Necroptosis; Chemotherapy; Inflammation; Oncogenesis; Cancer

Commissioning Editor


Ryan

Kevin Ryan, Glasgow
Cancer Research UK Beatson Institute, Glasgow, G61 1BD, UK
E-mail: K.Ryan@Beatson.gla.ac.uk
Autophagy; Cell death; p53 family; Cancer


Features Editor

Alexander WlodawerAlexander Wlodawer, Frederick, MD
Frederick, MD 21702, USA
E-mail: wlodawer@febs.org
Protein crystallography; Crystallographic methods; Proteases; Ribonucleases; Cytokines and cytokine receptors

Special Features Editor


Pura Munoz

Pura Muñoz-Cánoves, Barcelona
Department of Experimental and Life Sciences, Pompeu Fabra University, ICREA and CIBERNED, Barcelona, Spain
E-mail: pura.munoz@upf.edu
Tissue repair; Muscle; Inflammation; Fibrosis; Mouse genetics; Signal transduction; Transcription; Cell differentiation; Stem cells

Viewpoints Editor

W. Brent Derry

W. Brent Derry, Toronto
The Hospital for Sick Children, Toronto, Canada
E-mail: brent.derry@sickkids.ca
Genetics; Cell biology; Biochemistry; Signal transduction; Cell death; Tubulogenesis; C. elegans; Zebrafish; Cancer; Cerebral cavernous malformations

Editors

Abramov

Andrey Y. Abramov, London
Department of Molecular Neuroscience, Institute of Neurology, University College London, London, WC1N 3BG, UK
E-mail: a.abramov@ucl.ac.uk
Mitochondria; Calcium signalling; Reactive oxygen species; Oxidative stress

Eli Arama, Rehovot
Department of Molecular Genetics, Weizmann Institute of Science, Rehovot 76100, Israel
E-mail: eli.arama@weizmann.ac.il
Programmed cell death, Apoptosis, Caspase, Drosophila, Paternal
mitochondrial elimination, Mitochondrial dynamics

manbacc

Manuela Baccarini, Vienna
Center for Molecular Biology, University of Vienna, Max F. Perutz Laboratories
E-mail: manuela.baccarini@univie.ac.at
Signal transduction; Kinases; Phosphatases; Mouse models; Cancer research; Skin biology; Angiogenesis; Haematopoetic stem cell biology

Lawrence Banks picture

Lawrence Banks, Trieste
Virology Laboratory, International Centre for Genetic Engineering and Biotechnology, Trieste, Italy
E-mail: banks@icgeb.org
DNA tumour viruses; Protein-protein interactions; Cell signalling; Cell polarity; Cancer cell biology

Rudi Beyaert

Rudi Beyaert, Ghent
Department for Biomedical Molecular Biology, Ghent University
E-mail: rudi.beyaert@irc.vib-ugent.be
NF-kappaB signalling; TNF, IL-1 and T-cell-receptor signalling; Ubiquitin-dependent signalling; Inflammation

MichaelBoutros

Michael Boutros, Heidelberg
German Cancer Research Center and Heidelberg University, Division Signaling and Functional Genomics, Heidelberg, Germany
E-mail: m.boutros@dkfz.de
Wnt signaling; RNAi and CRISPR/Cas9 screens; genetic interaction screens; Drosophila development

CandiEleonora Candi, Rome
Dept. Experimental Medicine & Surgery, University of Tor Vergata, Rome, Italy
E-mail: candi@uniroma2.it
Skin biology; Transglutaminases and cornified envelope; p53 family; p63; microRNA; Transcription; Transgenic mice

Agnieszka ChaciƄska, Warsaw
Laboratory of Mitochondrial Biogenesis, Centre of New Technologies, University of Warsaw, Poland
E-mail: a.chacinska@cent.uw.edu.pl
Mitochondria; Organelles; Protein biogenesis; Protein degradation; Protein homeostasis; Protein transport; Quality control; Stress response

Karl ForchhammerKarl Forchhammer, Tübingen
Institut für Mikrobiologie, Eberhard-Karls-Universität Tübingen, Auf der Morgenstelle 28, D-72076 Tübingen, Germany
E-mail: karl.forchhammer@uni-tuebingen.de
Bacterial nitrogen metabolism and signal transduction; Molecular physiology of prokaryotic phototrophs; Regulatory mechanisms in bacteria; Protein phosphatase

Angela GronenbornAngela Gronenborn, Pittsburgh, PA
Department of Structural Biology, University of Pittsburgh, School of Medicine, 3501 Fifth Avenue, BST3/Rm1051, Pittsburgh, PA 15260, USA
E-mail: amg100@pitt.edu
Nuclear magnetic resonance spectroscopy; Biomolecular structure and dynamics; Protein-ligand interactions; Protein folding and design; Lectins

John HardyJohn Hardy, London
Department of Molecular Neuroscience and Reta Lila Weston Laboratories, Institute of Neurology, University College, Queen Square House, London, WC1 3BG
E-mail: j.hardy@ucl.ac.uk
Genetics and Heredity; Neurosciences and Neurology

Ursular KummerUrsula Kummer, Heidelberg
Department of Modeling of Biological Processes, BIOQUANT BQ18, University of Heidelberg, Im Neuenheimer Feld 267, 69120 Heidelberg, Germany
E-mail: ursula.kummer@bioquant.uni-heidelberg.de
Bioinformatics; Computational biochemistry; Nonlinear dynamics; Modelling and simulation; Enzyme kinetics

Hyunsook Lee, Seoul
Department of Biological Sciences, Seoul National University, Korea
E-mail: HL212@snu.ac.kr
Mitosis; telomere; BRCA2; spindle assembly checkpoint; BubR1; organoid culture for cancer research; double-strand DNA break repair

Daniel MicheleDaniel Michele, Ann Arbor, MI
Department of Molecular and Integrative Physiology, University of Michigan, 7771 Medical Science II, Ann Arbor, MI 48109-0622, USA
E-mail: dmichele@umich.edu
Muscle; Neuromuscular diseases; Cardiomyopathy; Mouse genetics; Cell adhesion; Extracellular matrix; Membrane proteins; Glycoproteins; Glycosylation

Masashi Narita pictureMasashi Narita, Cambridge
Cancer Research UK Cambridge Institute, Cambridge, UK
E-mail: Masashi.Narita@cruk.cam.ac.uk
Cellular senescence; Tumour suppressor;
Heterochromatin

Peter ParhamPeter Parham, Stanford, CA
Department of Structural Biology, Stanford University, Fairchild D-159, 299 Campus Drive West, Stanford, CA 94305, USA
E-mail: peropa@stanford.edu
Immunobiology of natural killer cells and cytotoxic T cells; Antigen processing and presentation; Immunogenetics of NK cell receptors and the major histocompatibility complex (MHC); Evolution of the immune system; Role of NK cells and the MHC in placental reproduction

Sathees RaghavanSathees C. Raghavan, Bangalore
Department of Biochemistry, Indian Institute of Science (IISc), Bangalore 560012, India
E-mail: sathees@biochem.iisc.ernet.in
DNA double-strand break repair; Non-B DNA structures; Genomic instability; Cancer biology; Cancer therapeutics; Immune system diversity and diseases

Nigel S. ScruttonNigel S. Scrutton, Manchester
Faculty of Life Sciences, Manchester Institute of Biotechnology, University of Manchester, 131 Princess St, Manchester M1 7DN, UK
E-mail: nigel.scrutton@manchester.ac.uk
Enzyme mechanisms; Cofactor chemistry; Electron and hydrogen transfer mechanisms; Protein dynamics and structure; Enzyme kinetics

Anne SpangAnne Spang, Basel
Biozentrum, University of Basel, Basel, Switzerland
E-mail: anne.spang@unibas.ch
Small GTPases; Secretion; Endocytosis; Exocytosis; Cell polarity; Processing bodies; mRNA localization; mRNA stability; Cell asymmetry; Vesicular transport

Nektarios Tavernarakis, Crete
Institute of Molecular Biology and Biotechnology (IMBB), Foundation for Research and Technology – Hellas, Crete, Greece
E-mail: tavernarakis@imbb.forth.gr
Ageing, Apoptosis, Autophagy, Caenorhabditis elegans, Cell death, Mitochondria, Necrosis, Neurobiology, Neurodegeneration, Senescence, Stress

Dan S. Tawfik, Rehovot
The Department of Biomolecular Sciences, Weizmann Institute of Science, Rehovot 76100, Israel
E-mail: dan.tawfik@weizmann.ac.il
Protein evolution; enzyme structure and mechanisms; molecular evolution; directed evolution; stability effects of mutations; protein engineering; protein promiscuity and evolvability; evolution of protein folds

Tony TiganisTony Tiganis, Melbourne, Australia
School of Biomedical Sciences, Monash University, VIC 3800, Australia
E-mail: tony.tiganis@med.monash.edu.au
Protein tyrosine phosphatases; Cellular signalling; Glucose homeostasis; Obesity; Diabetes; Adaptive immunity

Kostas TokatlidisKostas Tokatlidis, Glasgow
Institute of Molecular Cell and Systems Biology University of Glasgow, Glasgow, UK
E-mail: Kostas.Tokatlidis@glasgow.ac.uk
Mitochondrial biogenesis; Protein transport across membranes; Oxidative protein folding

Joe TrapaniJoe Trapani, Melbourne
Sir Peter MacCallum Department of Oncology, Melbourne, Australia
E-mail: joe.trapani@petermac.org
Cellular immunology; Signalling; Immunopathology of viral and auto-immune diseases

VillungerAndreas Villunger, Innsbruck
Medical University of Innsbruck, Biocenter, Division of Developmental Immunology, Innrain 80, 6020 Innsbruck, Austria
E-mail: andreas.villunger@i-med.ac.at
Immunology; Lymphocyte development; Tolerance; Cell Death; Transformation; BCL2-family; p53; Caspases; Cancer-Therapy; Signalling; Mouse models

Christine J. Watson, FMedSci, Cambridge, UK
Department of Pathology, University of Cambridge, UK
E-mail: cjw53@cam.ac.uk
Mammary gland; Stem cells; Lineage tracing; Cell death; Lysosomes; JAK/STAT signalling; Breast cancer

Chonglin Yang, Beijing
Institute of Genetics and Developmental Biology, Chinese Academy of Sciences, Beijing 100101, China
E-mail: clyang@genetics.ac.cn
Phagocytosis of apoptotic cells, endosome-lysosome pathway, lysosome biogenesis 

Sophie Zinn JustinSophie Zinn-Justin, Paris
Laboratory of Structural Biology and Radiobiology, UMR CNRS 8221 & CEA IBITECS Bât 144, CEA Saclay, 91191 Gif-sur-Yvette Cedex, France
E-mail: Sophie.ZINN@cea.fr
NMR; Molecular modeling; Bioinformatics; Biomolecular structure and dynamics; Nuclear envelope structure; Genome Integrity; Phage virion assembly

Viewpoints Advisory Editors

Colin Adrain

Colin Adrain, Lisbon
Membrane Traffic Group, Instituto Gulbenkian de Ciência, Oeiras, Portugal
Membrane trafficking; Intramembrane proteolysis; ADAM metalloproteases; Epidermal Growth Receptor; ER-associated degradation; Tumour Necrosis Factor; Inflammation

Thomas Wollert

Thomas Wollert, Paris
Department of Cell Biology and Infection, Institut Pasteur, Paris, France
Autophagy; Membrane trafficking; In vitro reconstitution; Supported lipid bilayer; Unilamellar vesicles: Membrane tethering factor; Membrane coat

Jump to: Editorial Advisory Board



Back to Top

News