FEBS Letters Award

The FEBS Letters Award 2016

Every other year, FEBS Letters offers a prestigious prize of €10,000 to the senior author of an outstanding Research Letter published in FEBS Letters during the previous two calendar years. The criteria for this selection are based on functional insight, depth of experimental analysis and broadness of impact.

FEBS Letters is happy to announce that the FEBS Letters Award 2016 will be presented jointly to Kim Nasmyth (University of Oxford, UK) and Jan Löwe (MRC, Cambridge, UK) for their outstanding paper:

Structure and function of cohesin’s Scc3/SA regulatory subunit



Maurici B. Roig, Jan Löwe, Kok-Lung Chan, Frédéric Beckouët, Jean Metson and Kim Nasmyth
FEBS Letters 588, 3692–3702, October 2014

Sister chromatids are held together by the cohesin ring structure, which is created through association of a kleisin subunit (Scc1/Rad21) with ATPase heads of Smc1/Smc3 heterodimers. Scc3 is the most important of cohesin’s regulatory subunits. Nasmyth/Löwe and colleagues have now solved the crystal structure of the yeast Scc3 subunit, analyzed its interaction with Scc1 and determined the key residues for cohesin’s release from chromatin. Using live-cell studies they suggest that Scc3 can turn over more rapidly than the 'core' cohesin subunits, and is responsible for maintaining as well as establishing cohesion. Scc3 turns over in G2/M while maintaining cohesin’s association with chromosomes and it promotes de-acetylation of Smc3 upon Scc1 cleavage. These findings are expected to provide insight into a broad range of molecular events related to chromatin organization and regulation.

The winning article is selected by a special Award Committee, formed by appointed members of the Editorial Board, plus one external member. The Award Committee members were: Laszlo Nagy (Orlando) Chair, Miguel De la Rosa (Seville), Irene Diaz Moreno (Seville), Wilfried Ellmeier (Vienna), and Daniela Ruffell (Editorial Office).

Dr Jan Löwe will give a plenary lecture about his work at the FEBS Congress in Ephesus/Kuşadası (Turkey) in September 2016, where he will be officially presented with the prize, on behalf of both winners.

Past Award Winners


Susanna Törnroth-Horsefield

Lund University

Frick A, Järvå M, Törnroth-Horsefield S. (2013) Structural basis for pH gating of plant aquaporins. FEBS Lett. 587(7): 989-993.



Dr. Susumu Mitsutake
Hokkaido University

Mitsutake S, Date T, Yokota H, Sugiura M, Kohama T, Igarashi Y. (2012) Ceramide kinase deficiency improves diet-induced obesity and insulin resistance. FEBS Lett. 586(9):1300-05.



Dr. Megumi Funakoshi-Tago
Keio University

Sumi K, Tago K, Kasahara T, Funakoshi-Tago M (2011) Aurora kinase A critically contributes to the resistance to anti-cancer drug cisplatin in JAK2 V617F mutant-induced transformed cells. FEBS Lett. 585(12):1884-90.



Shiro Suetsugu
University of Tokyo

Shimada A, Takano K, Shirouzu M, Hanawa-Suetsugu K, Terada T, Toyooka K, Umehara T, Yamamoto M, Yokoyama S, Suetsugu S (2010) Mapping of the basic amino-acid residues responsible for tubulation and cellular protrusion by the EFC/F-BAR domain of pacsin2/Syndapin II. 2010 584(6):1111-8.


Read the article "Featuring - Shiro Suetsugu"


Hideo Iwai
The University of Helisinki

Jesper S. Oeemig, A. Sesilja Aranko, Janica Djupsjöbacka, Kimmo Heinämäki, Hideo Iwaï (2009) Solution structure of DnaE intein from Nostoc punctiforme: Structural basis for the design of a new split intein suitable for site-specific chemical modification. FEBS Lett. 583 1451-1456.


Read the article"Featuring - Hideo Iwai"


Frank Sargent
University of Dundee, UK

Grant Buchanan, Julien Maillard, Sander B. Nabuurs, David J. Richardson, Tracy Palmer, Frank Sargent (2008) Features of a twin-arginine signal peptide required for recognition by a Tat proofreading chaperone. FEBS Letters 582: 3979-3984


Read the article "Featuring - Frank Sargent"


Kaspar Locher
EidgenÖssische Technische Hochschule

Roger J.P. Dawson and Kaspar P. Locher (2007) Structure of the multidrug ABC transporter Sav1866 from Staphylococcus aureus in complex with AMP-PNP. FEBS Lett. 581 (5), 935-938.


Read the article "Featuring...Kaspar Locher"


Noboru Mizushima
Tokyo Medical and Dental University Graduate School

Nao Hosokawaa, Yukichi Harab and Noboru Mizushima (2006) Generation of cell lines with tetracycline-regulated autophagy and a role for autophagy in controlling cell size. FEBS Lett. 580 (11), 2623-2629.


Read the article "Featuring...Noboru Mizushima"


Theresia Stradal
GBF, Braunschweig,

Jenzora, A. et al. (2005) PREL1 provides a link from Ras signalling to the actin cytoskeleton via Ena/VASP proteins. FEBS Lett. 579 (2), 455-463.


Read the article "Featuring...Theresia Stradal"


Elke Deuerling
ZBMH, Heidelberg,

Vorderwülbecke, S. et al. (2004) Low temperature or GroEL/ES overproduction permits growth of Escherichia coli cells lacking trigger factor and DnaK. FEBS Lett. 559 (3), 181-187.


Read the article "Featuring...Elke Deuerling"


Jie-Oh Lee
KAIST, Daejon,
South Korea

Kim, H.M. et al. (2003) Crystal structure of Drosophila angiotensin I-converting enzyme bound to captopril and lisinopril. FEBS Lett. 538 (1-3), 65-70.



Kun Ping Lu
Harvard Medical
School, Boston,
United States

Nakamura, M. et al. (2002) Involvement of the telomeric protein Pin2/TRF1 in the regulation of the mitotic spindle. FEBS Lett. 514 (2-3), 193-198.