Editorial Board


Managing Editor:

Felix Wieland

Felix Wieland, Heidelberg University, Heidelberg, Germany
Email: felix.wieland@bzh.uni-heidelberg.de


Academic Editors:

Claus Azzalin

Claus Azzalin
Faculdade de Medicina da Universidade de Lisboa , Lisboa, Portugal
Email: cmazzalin@medicina.ulisboa.pt
Genome integrity, chromosome structure, DNA replication, cellular senescence, long noncoding RNA, nonsense mediated RNA decay, RNA structure, RNA maturation

Paul Bertone

Paul Bertone
EMBL European Bioinformatics Institute, Wellcome Trust Genome Campus; Cambridge, UK
Email: bertone@ebi.ac.uk
Microarray technologies and applications, high-throughput genomics and proteomics, computational biology and bioinformatics

Paul Bertone

John Briggs
EMBL Heidelberg, Germany
Email: briggs@embl.de
Cryo-electron microscopy, structural biology, virus assembly , membrane coat proteins

Peter Brzezinski

Peter Brzezinski
Stockholm University, Stockholm, Sweden
Email: peterb@dbb.su.se
Bioenergetics, enzymatics, coupled electron/proton transfer, mitochondrial respiratory chains, molecular biophysics

Michael R. Bubb

Michael R. Bubb
University of Florida, Gainesville, FL, USA
Email: bubbmr@medicine.ufl.edu
Cell biology, autoimmunity, neurodevelopment, cytoskeletal proteins, angiogenesis, cell motility

Zhijie Chang

Zhijie Chang
Tsinghua University, Beijing, China
Email: zhijiec@tsinghua.edu.cn
Protein modification, ubiquitination, phosphorylation, regulation of protein kinases, oncogenes, signalling to transcription factors

Amitabha Chattopadhyay

Amitabha Chattopadhyay
Centre for Cellular and Molecular Biology, Hyderabad, India
Email: amit@ccmb.res.in
Membrane structure, function and dynamics, membrane receptors, ion carriers and ion channels

Quan Chen

Quan Chen
Nankai University, Tianjin, China & The State Key Laboratory of Biomembrane and Membrane Biotechnology, Chinese Academy of Sciences, Beijing, China
Email: chenquan@nankai.edu.cn
Programmed cell death, mitochondrial dynamics, cellular stress signaling, cancer stem cells

Richard Cogdell

Richard Cogdell
University of Glasgow, Glasgow, United Kingdom
Email: r.cogdell@bio.gla.ac.uk
Bacterial photosynthesis, light harvesting and energy transfer, Xray crystallography

Tamas Dalmay

Tamas Dalmay
University of East Anglia, Norwich, England
Email: T.Dalmay@uea.ac.uk
Gene silencing, RNA interference, RNA silencing, gene expression regulation by short RNAs

Miguel A. De la Rosa

Miguel A. De la Rosa
Universidad de Sevilla y CSIC, Sevilla, Spain
Email: marosa@us.es
Biochemistry, biophysics, molecular biology of metalloproteins, protein evolution, photosynthesis and bioenergetics, programmed cell death, protein folding, protein stability, protein-protein interactions

Frances Edwards

Frances Edwards
Department of Neuroscience Physiology and Pharmacology, University College London, UK
Email: f.a.edwards@ucl.ac.uk
Synaptic transmission, synaptic plasticity, neurodegeneration, Alzheimer’s disease, dementia

Wilfried Ellmeier

Wilfried Ellmeier
Center for Physiology and Pathophysiology, Vienna, Austria
Email: wilfried.ellmeier@meduniwien.ac.at
T cell development and function, adaptive immunity, B cells, VDJ recombination, chromatin remodeling

Stuart Ferguson

Stuart Ferguson
University of Oxford, Oxford, United Kingdom
Email: stuart.ferguson@bioch.ox.ac.uk
Biochemistry, NMR, X-ray, heme, enzymatics, bioenergetics, nitrogen cycle, metalloenzymes, structural biology

Ulf- Ingo

Ulf- Ingo Flügge
Universität zu Köln, Cologne, Germany
Email: ui.fluegge@uni-koeln.de
Plant biology, metabolite transport, membrane transport, plant metabolism

Takashi Gojobori

Takashi Gojobori
National Institutes of Genetics, Mishima, Japan
Email: tgojobor@nig.ac.jp
Evolution, genetics, genomics, computational biology

Urs Greber

Urs Greber
Institute of Molecular Life Sciences, University of Zurich, Switzerland
Email: urs.greber@imls.uzh.ch
Virology, virus entry, replication, egress, human viruses causing respiratory disease

Christian Griesinger

Christian Griesinger
Max-Planck-Institut für biophysikalische Chemie, Göttingen, Germany
Email: cigr@nmr.mpibpc.mpg.de
Structural biology, NMR spectroscopy, X-ray crystallography, protein-protein interaction, protein-nucleic acid interaction

Barry Halliwell

Barry Halliwell
National University of Singapore, Singapore
Email:bchbh@nus.edu.sg
Structural biology, NMR spectroscopy, X-ray crystallography, protein-protein interaction, protein-nucleic acid interaction

Justin Hamilton

Justin Hamilton
Australian Centre for Blood Diseases, Monash University, Australia
Email: justin.hamilton@monash.edu
Platelets, thrombosis, coagulation, atherosclerosis

Lukas A. Huber

Lukas A. Huber
Universität Innsbruck, Innsbruck, Austria
Email: Lukas.A.Huber@uibk.ac.at
Cell adhesion and signaling, cancer, endocytosis, protein transport and sorting

Michael Ibba

Michael Ibba
Ohio State University, Columbus, OH, USA
Email: ibba.1@osu.edu
Translation, protein synthesis, microbes

Kazuhiro Iwai

Kazuhiro Iwai
Kyoto University, Kyoto, Japan
Email: kiwai@mcp.med.kyoto-u.ac.jp
Ubiquitin-mediated protein degradation, NF-kB, B cell activation

Jacomine Krijnse-Locker

Jacomine Krijnse-Locker
BioQuant, Heidelberg, Germany
Email: jacomine.krijnse@bioquant.uni-heidelberg.de
Virus-host interactions, cytoplasmic trafficking of viral particles

Kaspar Locher

Kaspar Locher
Institute of Molecular Biology and Biophysics, Zürich, Switzerland
Email: locher@mol.biol.ethz.ch
Structure determination of membrane proteins, ABC transporters

Dietmar J. Manstein

Dietmar J. Manstein
Hannover Medical School (MHH), Institute for Biophysical Chemistry, Hannover, Germany
Email: manstein@bpc.mh-hannover.de
Myosin, dynamin, actin-based cytoskeleton and motility, Dictyostelium discoideum

Ned Mantei

Ned Mantei
Institute for Molecular Health Sciences, Zürich, Switzerland
Email: ned.mantei@biol.ethz.ch
Signal transduction, Wnt signaling, TGF-beta signaling, small G proteins, gene regulation, neurobiology, glial cells, embryonic stem cells, neural development

Maurice Montal

Maurice Montal
University of California San Diego, La Jolla, CA, USA
Email: mmontal@ucsd.edu
Neurobiology, synaptic transmission, channel proteins, neurotoxins

Laszlo Nagy

Laszlo Nagy
University of Debrecen Nagyerdei krt. 98., Debrecen, Hungary
Email: lnagy@indi.biochem.dote.hu
Lipid metabolism, adipogenesis, diabetes, insulin, obesity, inflammation and atherosclerosis, PPARγ, nuclear receptors, steroid hormone receptors

Hitoshi Nakatogawa

Hitoshi Nakatogawa
Department of Biological Sciences, Tokyo Institute of Technology, Yokohama, Japan
Email: hnakatogawa@bio.titech.ac.jp
Autophagy, protein degradation, membrane traffic, post-translational modifications

Angel R. Nebreda

Angel R. Nebreda
Institute for Research in Biomedicine (IRB Barcelona), Barcelona, Spain
Email: angel.nebreda@irbbarcelona.org
Cancer signalling pathways, oncogenes, tumor suppressors, signal transduction by protein kinases, senescence, cell differentiation, cell cycle, mitosis, DNA damage, cellular stresses

Judit Ovádi

Judit Ovádi
Hungarian Academy of Sciences, Budapest, Hungary
Email: ovadi@enzim.hu
Enzyme structure and function, energy metabolism, glycolysis, cell architecture and metabolite signaling, cytoskeleton

Francesc Posas

Francesc Posas
Universitat Pompeu Fabra (UPF), Barcelona, Spain
Email: francesc.posas@upf.edu
Yeast, cell cycle, yeast genetics, stress responses in yeast

James E. Rothman

James E. Rothman
Yale University, New Haven, CT, USA
Email: james.rothman@yale.edu
Golgi, SNARE, COPI, vesicles

Ivan Sadowski

Ivan Sadowski
University of British Columbia, Vancouver, BC, Canada
Email: ijs.ubc@gmail.com
Yeast genetics, transcription, gene regulation, hormones

Julian I. Schroeder

Julian I. Schroeder
University of California San Diego, La Jolla, USA
Email: Julian@biomail.ucsd.edu
Plant physiology, guard cells, ion channels, stress, plant transport, signaling and development, ABA

Sandro Sonnino

Sandro Sonnino
Università degli Studi di Milano, Milan, Italy
Email: Sandro.Sonnino@unimi.it
Glycolipids, sphingolipids, prion, amyloid, lipid signalling pathways, lipid rafts, sphingomyelin, ceramide, cholesterol

Didier Stainier

Didier Stainier
Max Planck Institute for Heart and Lung Research, Bad Nauheim, Germany
Email: didier.stainier@mpi-bn.mpg.de
Development, zebrafish, cardiac development, endothelium, pancreas, beta cells

Michael R. Sussman

Michael R. Sussman
University of Wisconsin Biotechnology Center, Madison, WI, USA
Email: msussman@wisc.edu
Plant biology, plant genetics, genomics, plant biochemistry, plant hormones, bioenergetics of plants and fungi

Renee Tsolis

Renee Tsolis
University of California, Davis, CA, USA
Email: rmtsolis@ucdavis.edu
Bacterial infections, host-microbe interactions, bacterial physiology, bacterial gene regulation, virulence factors, bacterial protein secretion systems, innate immunity

Alfonso Valencia

Alfonso Valencia
Barcelona Supercomputing Centre, Life Science Department, Barcelona, Spain
Email: alfonso.valencia@bsc.es
Computational biology, text mining, information extraction, data bases, protein networks, structural bioinformatics, genome annotation, organization and evolution

Felix Wieland

Felix Wieland
University of Heidelberg, Heidelberg, Germany
Email: felix.wieland@bzh.uni-heidelberg.de
Vesicular transport, membrane protein biosynthesis, organelle biosynthesis, golgi, secretory pathway, COPI vesicles

Berend Wieringa

Berend Wieringa
Radboudumc, Nijmegen, Netherlands
Email: b.wieringa@ncmls.ru.nl
Cellular energy metabolism, Warburg effect in cancer cells, cytoskeletal motility, protein folding disorders, DNA repeat instability disorders, trinucleotide expansion disorders

News